Skip to content

Melbourne Countdown

24/07/2008

At the start of the year, I won the Universitas 21 Travel Prize to support a visit to the University of Melbourne.  Some six months later, (nearly) everything’s booked, and I fly out next week.  This will be a great opportunity to access an otherwise distant research community.  Fingers crossed I’ll return with new insights, and hopefully a chapter or two of my Thesis under my belt.  Expect images and sounds posted as soon as I have them…

I’ll be back in the UK for the 4th Disability Studies Conference in Lancaster, which I’m also looking forward to.  As with the ALT-C, the conference programme has been recently announced.  Several presentations have caught my eye: Nicholas Cimini’s ‘Struggles online over the meaning of disability‘, promises to open a window on Dialogic perspectives of Disability and Technology, a window that I’m increasingly seeking to climb through. The Sheffield Hallam Disability Research Forum is well represented, and it’s hard not to eye other titles with anticipation.  I’m already looking forward to Michael Shamash’s paper ‘Anything Can Happen in the Next Half Hour‘.  Can Michael convince us of the place of Captain Scarlet in the lexicon of the Social Model?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/08/2008 8:20 pm

    Sarah,
    If you have the opportunity, you might find a visit to Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne worthwhile. I recently met one of their researchers, Dr Denise Whitehouse, at a meeting in London to do with new school design. Some of the examples she showed of work she had been involved in, was genuinely unusual and intriguing. I was especially caught by some of the school furniture that had been inspired and informed by museum furniture design. I’m generally getting very keen on connecting museums, galleries and archives to schools in some way. Since they are the guardians of most of the cultural value education is supposed to be about inheriting, it kind of strikes me as common sense.

  2. 04/08/2008 3:38 am

    Thanks, Joe. This sounds really interesting, I’ll definately see if I can look her up. re: museum and school in the design of educational spaces, you might want to have a look at what the Holocaust Centre (Beth Shalom) nr Newark are doing. Their current redesign is really something. Look up Heather Hollins there if you’re interested in knowing more.

Leave a Reply

