Skip to content

U21 Prize Scholarship

28/01/2008

I’m fortunate to announce that, with support from academics in the UK and Australia, I’ve won the Universitas 21 Prize Scholarship to continue my studies at the University of Melbourne, for a month later this year. Universitas 21 is an international network of 21 research-intensive universities in 13 countries. If you are a 2nd or 3rd year PhD student studying at a partner instutition you can apply for the prize scholarship to strengthen your research, these total up to £1000 ($2000) for visits outside a home country.

I’m hoping to benefit from the insights of Melbourne academics working in the areas of ‘Access and Equity’ and new technologies.  I have a desk at the Faculty of Education in ICT in Education and Research and my supervisor for the duration will be Dr Richard James, director of the Centre for the Study of Higher Education

Access and Equity is the Australian equivalent to the UK’s Widening Participation agenda. In particular, I’m interested in how national inclusion strategies and global (economic) information interests – embodied by new technologies – are experienced in and around the HE classroom. Hopefully this visit will allow me to couch my research in a wider, more internationally applicable context. The only downside has to be that I’m travelling during UK academic down-time (August) so I can’t benefit from the joys of an Australian summer!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 29/01/2008 10:58 am

    Well done SarahMo! I’m sure you’ll enjoy Oz…

Leave a Reply

