Skip to content

Computer Science Culture Shock

14/06/2007

This is my second day in a computer science enclave, at Southampton University’s Electronics and Computer Science department. This has already had profound impact on my use of internet-based technology. I’ve ditched Internet Explorer permanently, in favour of Mozilla Firefox. I’ve signed up to Skype at last – using it for free video/audio conference with 5 temporarily local group members and group member in Finland (3 hours ahead). We will be using it again later today with 2 colleagues in Oregon (8 hours behind). I’ll never go back to international phone calls again (that means you, Orange). The fact that the group leaders have cameras and microphones built into their Mac Laptops has somehow shamed my Samsung R65 (and I had been ecstatically happy with it until this moment). This is also the first time I’ve used a wiki (CAWS) to create a collaborative document from scratch. What next?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

