Skip to content

Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom

23/04/2007

The UL, an imposing red brick building with tower and flanking columned wings.

The UL, an imposing red brick building with tower and flanking columned wings.

Earlier today I did a quick round trip to Cambridge University Library to seek out some of the recommended reading for the New Perspectives on Disability Research workshop I’m going to next month.

The UL is a copyright library (akin to Trinity Dublin, the Bodleian and the British Library). In theory everything ever published in the UK should be in there somewhere, so I thought my chances of finding the necessary titles were pretty good. However, the list provided by the organisers includes a few titles that defy this logic, being Scandinavian in origin. More fool me for my international pretentions!

I’ve always liked the library’s Power Station physique, (pictured) and it’s semblance as a power house of learning, ‘Ministry of Love’ (Orwell), ‘Dark Tower’ (CS Lewis) or otherwise. I also enjoyed some of the archaic shelving. The constant waves of new titles have pushed books off the shelves an onto table tops and windowledges in parts of Sociology (South Wing, 6th floor). Day trip asidehere’s what I’ll be reading for the next few weeks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

