Skip to content

Talking Labels

17/04/2007

The Talking Label: A small rectangular white plastic device featuring a large green button.

The 'Talking Label': A small rectangular white plastic device featuring a large green tactile button.

In my search to add Audio files to my Poster Presentation(s) I’ve discovered Talking Labels. These are small recordable and re-recordable devices with 60 seconds playback. They measure approximately 3 inches by 2 inches and attach easily to most things. They can be used again and again and come in at a relative snip for £6.99 each (three for £19.99). I’m also pleased to say I ordered mine yesterday, and despite the ‘7-10 days delivery’ claim on the website, my order arrived this morning.  I’m hoping to attach two to my poster for two purposes – firstly to illustrate some auditory elements of my data collection, for example the sound-effect exclamation marks make on some screen-reader software(s). Secondly, to act as a 60 second introduction/overview on the occasion that I’m not right there with my poster. Too gimmiky?  I just hope they have enough volume!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/04/2007 5:04 pm

    I added a link to this company. Thanks so much for the tip. Can you send me a photograph of you and poster, or a close-up (or Quicktime) of your sound device on your poster? I’d love to have an actual example of the gizmo in action. Good luck on the poster.

  2. 17/04/2007 9:42 pm

    I’d be happy to send some photos from the conference in Sweden, and I’ll try and get some footage of the Labels in action too. I’ll send these in early May when my poster goes ‘live’. Fingers crossed it should all work swimmingly (spare batteries notwithstanding)!

  3. 16/09/2007 12:56 am

    special education examples of teaching philosophy

    special education examples of teaching philosophy

Trackbacks

  1. Cheap Braille for Business Cards « 32 Days Remaining

Leave a Reply

